Of Shells and Songs

My grandmother, Verda Roberts (simply “grandma” to me) went to be with Jesus yesterday.  It is the first time I have really lost someone close to me.  Grief is such a surreal experience, and it is hard for me to remember that she is actually gone.  The funeral is Thursday and I imagine that being there will make it more real.

She left a legacy.  Everyone does, of course.  But amongst the larger things she left us, it is generally the “little” things that have been sweetly visiting my memory over the past 24 hours, reminding me of the time we spent together when I was a little girl.

My grandma left a legacy of long walks on the beach, exploring the beauty of each seashell in all its unique mystery.

She left a legacy of swaying front porch swings while singing songs about Jesus or reciting nursery rhymes.

A legacy of peanut butter and jelly sandwiches after a day of play, or hot dogs and crispy french fries seasoned with just the perfect amount of salt and pepper.

A legacy of time spent sewing clothes for my Barbie dolls.

A legacy of not chastising me when I used one too many Dixie cups for drinks of water because I thought the cup dispenser in the bathroom was just so cool.

A legacy of a son that became the father that blessed me as a young girl and blesses me still as an older one.

A legacy of a strong and loving marriage to my grandfather that lasted for over 61 years.

A legacy of faith, as she was one more person in my life that God used to show me how real He is through the stories and songs she shared.

I mourn for my grandpa and the others she left behind that will miss her, and I am in prayer for all the hearts that are broken in grief.  But I rejoice for my grandma.  She is with the Lord, reunited with the son she lost when just a toddler to leukemia, feeling no more pain.  Every tear has been wiped from her eyes.  She was welcomed into heaven, and her legacy is recognized there as it is here.  My grandma wasn’t perfect, of course, but as a sheep from His flock that loved her Shepherd, I know she heard our Lord say, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”

Published by

livadair

Follower of Jesus, wife, homeschooling mom to three kids (soon to be four!), and lover of pizza, chocolate, reading, hiking, and temperatures that fall between 60 and 70 degrees.

3 thoughts on “Of Shells and Songs”

  1. I love the title of this post 🙂 I’m sad to read about your loss, but inspired to see how you have put your trust in Jesus through it all. Your grandma is in the place where we all want to be! She has already experienced what one day I aspire to experience: meeting God face to face, hearing Him say, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”

Leave a Reply

