Sleeps like a baby…

Yikes!  I realized it’s been almost a month since I last posted.  I can’t believe time has gone by that quickly.  And I feel somewhat guilty, as I meant to do a post on Asher’s sixth month, but here we are and he is already seven months old.

So here’s an update on Asher as he is at seven months.  He started solids at the end of his fifth month and has now progressed to eating them twice a day.  Sir Asher appears to prefer bananas over the pears, prunes, and other fruit combos, but eagerly consumes them all.  He is also a fan of sweet potatoes.

He continues to laugh and smile with ease and loves to laugh– especially at his sister.  All she has to say is “something” (literally, the word “something”), and he cracks up.  He rolls across rooms like a whirling dervish.  He is trying oh so desperately to crawl, but while he has mastered getting up on his hands, he can’t quite get his little bottom end to cooperate at the same time.  Asher continues to love his jumperoo and watching his feet as he bounces around reminds me of a little Lord of the Dance.

He loves to flirt and is mastering the art of sitting unassisted.  He enjoys water and/or mommy milk in his sippy cup, which he uses primarily to teethe on.  Speaking of teeth, little man had his two bottom middle teeth pop through on Father’s Day!

What Asher does not like, currently, is sleep.  Or, at least, sleeping on his own.  He has always been a pretty great sleeper, but for some reason he hit month 6 and decided that sleeping is overrated and that there are too many fun things to do with those nighttime hours.  Therefore, he has been waking from midnight until it is time to get up every three hours or so.

Which means that his father and me are losing our minds.

We know that this has started due to a combo of teething, developmental milestones, and separation anxiety.  After trying a few thousand different things, I think we have hit upon what may work.  Over the past couple of nights we have been going in when he wakes and instead of picking up our little cuddle bear (who, incidentally, appears to have swallowed a motor along with his solids due to his desire to move, move, move), we simply put our hands on his little chest, head, or cheek until he drifts off again.  We started with his naps, which he had also declared war on, and granted, while he was (and still is) not a huge fan of this, it appears Asher is starting to get the hang of it.

I know he needs to be able to self-soothe and he is also having difficulty transitioning from one sleep cycle to the next, hence the somewhat regular intervals between his waking.  For me personally, I can’t do the cry it out thing, so this standing beside the crib with some contact but not picking him up and rocking is a solution that I am comfortable with.  For naps, I do go and sit in the rocking chair in his room for a minute or so at a time before returning to put my hand on him again, just to get him used to being in there by himself as well as helping him learn that I will come back.  There are still some tears, which I hate of course, but my blue eyed boy knows I am there and is able to better tolerate the process, as am I!

I am consistently amazed at how different children are.  Asher’s sister Eila has almost always been a great sleeper.  Like Asher, she did do what we called the Domino’s naps (guaranteed 30 minutes or less), but other than the occasional sleep disturbance, she was a champ at sleeping “through the night”.  She was sleeping on her tummy at this age and had thrown aside her pacifier in favor of the thumb.  Asher definitely prefers sleeping on his back and only uses his thumb if his paci is out of reach.  It is definitely a challenge to try and not compare my kids, especially when it comes to matters that affect everyone like sleep!  We did things almost exactly the same with both in regard to the sleep habits, so overall, Will and I know that this is just part of who Asher is at this time.  I do love seeing how different my kids are though- they are both so very special and I love watching their personalities and preferences grow and develop.

I was thinking about this the other night and it made me thankful for how God doesn’t compare me to my brothers and sisters in Christ.  He loves me, despite all my quirks, shortcomings, and personality traits.  The good, the bad, and the ugly.  I am valuable because He made me, because He created me in His image.   And just like my delight in learning the differences in and qualities of my children, I know from His word that He delights in me.

“The Lord your God is with you, He is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, He will quiet you with his love, He will rejoice over you with singing.” Zephaniah 3:17

Praise God for that.

Published by

livadair

Follower of Jesus, wife, homeschooling mom to three kids (soon to be four!), and lover of pizza, chocolate, reading, hiking, and temperatures that fall between 60 and 70 degrees.

2 thoughts on “Sleeps like a baby…”

Leave a Reply

