Of course you can rock out in a minivan

Today, I received a gift.  You moms out there will understand.  It was the gift of going grocery shopping by myself.  No children.  It is sometimes the closest thing I get to “me time” and when it happens, I get rather giddy.  Sad, but true.

Anyway, on the way to the grocery store today, I felt, with a keen sense of both humor and nostalgia, how things have changed since I became a mom.  I was driving along when one of my favorite songs came on the radio (TobyMac’s Made to Love) and I felt the need to turn up the volume and sing with abandon.  After all, it is a rare day that I am 1) alone in a vehicle (alone anywhere for that matter!) and 2) that I can enjoy music without being asked to talk about the meaning of the song, hear about what my child’s favorite stuffed animal just said, or to turn on Veggietales instead.  I felt like I did when I was in college at UNC, like I was on my way to meet friends off-campus at a restaurant, at the Pit, or when I was heading back to my dorm after a weekend at home.  Yet  as TobyMac and I made our way to Harris Teeter, I burst out laughing as one aspect of my reality hit me full force.

There I was blaring music.  In our minivan.  To my right lay my coupon binder.  Behind me in the middle seats sat two car seats.  And on the floor lay a smattering of my kids’ toys and prized books.

In that moment, after my laughter died down, I was filled with a sweet, inexplicable joy. There are absolutely times I miss my college days.  Perhaps more so because I now understand what sheer freedom and fun those days were in a way that I never had understood before.   Yet, despite days filled with frustration when I ask myself for the 100th time why I even BOTHER giving instructions to my 3 year old, or when I am trying to change the diaper of my 1 1/2 year old and he is attempting Evel Knievel moves off the changing table, the happiness I feel and the blessing I have in being a mother to my children in the everyday, even mundane, tasks of life are incredibly worth it.  And I wouldn’t trade my life now.  Not even for another year of those fun and freedom-filled college days.

That doesn’t mean, however, that I am neglecting my duty to raise our kids as Tarheel fans. Clearly, that would be unacceptable. 😉  I’m a Tarheel born, I’m a Tarheel bred…

Published by

livadair

Follower of Jesus, wife, homeschooling mom to three kids (soon to be four!), and lover of pizza, chocolate, reading, hiking, and temperatures that fall between 60 and 70 degrees.

Leave a Reply

