Akin to Acquisition

As a Facebook addict fan, I tend to check my account throughout the day and update my status, which is somewhat presumptuous because I am assuming people care (ahem, much like blogging..).  I like keeping up with people that I otherwise wouldn’t have contact with, and I enjoy catching glimpses into people’s lives through pictures, their comments to others, etc. Despite my enjoyment of Facebook, I have come to realize that there are a few things that irk me about it.  Number 1) the superpoke application.  Now, I have to admit that there are certain circumstances where throwing a sheep at someone may be humorous, and there are times I have even participated in this application.  But most days, it does seem somewhat silly.  Far more irritating is Number 2) the “lil green patch” application.  Send virtual plants/flowers and fight global warming.  Enough said.

But it is Number 3 that gets me…friend acquisition.  Now, before I go any further, I feel the need to admit, that yes, the competitive part of me sometimes likes to note the number of friends I have on Facebook and compare that number with the numbers of others.  I really don’t like to admit that, but there it is.  However, I made a rule for myself that I would not invite people to be my friend just because we went to the same high school, had a conversation once, or to round up from friend count number 129 because 130 just fits the OCD part of me better…I try to link to others because I know we will actually communicate with each other.  If someone asks me to be their friend, well then sure, I accept, even if it is someone I will probably not communicate with much.  But when it comes to me doing the asking, I hold to my rule.

So why on earth am I even taking the time to write about this ridiculous topic?  I guess it comes back to friendship.  Friends shouldn’t be akin to acquisition.  Friendship is not a commodity, it’s not a popularity contest (aside from middle school), and it shouldn’t be cheapened by the crazy competitive streaks in people like me.  I suppose I am one of those people that has always leaned more towards quality, not quantity when it comes to my friends, even when the insecure part of me whispers “but look at how so-and-so has such a large group of friends…people just don’t like you as much” (I have gotten much better about ignoring those insecurities).  The friendships I have are so precious to me and I hope I don’t take them for granted.  I love having intimate friendships where I feel like my friends understand me– I wish I had more of those, and I often mourn for those that would have developed further but were interrupted by distance, life circumstances, etc.

So despite my Facebook annoyances, I am grateful for the chance to reconnect and build upon my friendships.  Now I will sign off and go update my status for those of you that are interested…and for those of you who aren’t, well, I throw a sheep at you.

Published by

livadair

Follower of Jesus, wife, homeschooling mom to three kids (soon to be four!), and lover of pizza, chocolate, reading, hiking, and temperatures that fall between 60 and 70 degrees.

One thought on “Akin to Acquisition”

  1. I do have to say that I am glad I found you on facebook! I have found that we have more in common than I could have ever imagined. I have missed my Bagel Girl!!!

Leave a Reply

